Maybe If I Tell Myself Enough.

I don’t know about anyone else but I am OBSESSED with this new Ingrid Michaelson album. I wasn’t really a fan before. I heard a couple songs here and there that I liked but never ran out to buy an album. I heard the buzz about this one, Lights Out, and decided to check it out on Spotify. So good. One of the songs called Over You has resinated the most with me. My favorite line is, Maybe if I tell myself enough, maybe if I do, I’ll get over you. How true is this? You know when you’ve liked someone for so long but you get this feeling that it’s not going to go where you want it to. You decide that this is it. The only way you can move on is by telling yourself over and over that you’re so over that person. So you begin to see all the flaws you chose to ignore because you were going to accept and like this person for who they are. I mean, that’s what love is right?

There comes to a point where that candle burning for someone runs out of wax to keep the fire lit. I have wax all over my hands and my shoes. Wax is all over the floor.  That crap is so annoying to clean up. You can get rid of the majority of it but your still left with this waxy residue. The wick is clenched in my fingers. So what do I do? Keep hold the wick till I eventually get burned or drop it like it’s hot and stomp the crap out of it? Personally, I’m a huge fan of fire safety. I’ve never had to stop, drop and roll in my life and I don’t plan on it. So I’m dropping the wick. No more clenching that candle. No more offering up hopeful prayers. No more waiting by the backdoor. I’m done. Holding-a-candle-007

Leave a Reply

