Confessions of a Third Wheel.

If there’s one thing I hate in this world, it’s bring the third wheel. I’m 23 now and this has been a common occurrence unfortunately. There’s nothing worse than sitting in a movie theater with best friend that is hanging all over/dating the guy you’re not so secretly in love with. The sad part is that this situation and others like this can be avoided.

If you are in a relationship and you have a friend that isn’t, please do not invite them out with you and your significant other. This could lead to a future drinking problem and an overall unpleasant time for your friend. The pity invite is the worst. One Valentine’s Day, my then BFF & her boyfriend came to my house with a bag of chocolate and kidnapped me out of pity. I sat on a couch at her house watching a romantic comedy and stuffing my face with Dove chocolate. I ended up texting a friend to rescue me. To them, this might’ve been a good deed. In reality, it was the equivalent of waterboarding. Maybe you’re reading this and thinking, “IT IS LIKE WATERBOARDING!!!” My friend, you’re not alone.

It always seems to be the BFFs that get a boyfriend then the balance of the group of friends change. That’s pretty much the situation I’m in now. Some good has come of this perpetual awkwardness. Here’s my advice to you tricycles:

1. Find a buffer

Tricycles are so awkward. Make it a quad! Bring in a friend that can bring balance to the force. If the couple starts to get all couple-y, focus on your other friend. You also have someone incase you need to use an emergency exit, meaning you can ditch the couple and grab drinks with your other friend!

2. Say NO

It’s a magical word that is a big part of my life. If a couple invites just you out to dinner, drinks or whatever, say no. No one is forcing you to put up with this shit.

3. Don’t get sad, be awesome instead

If I’ve learned anything from HIMYM, it’s when you get sad, stop being sad and be awesome instead. You find you give less shits when you just focus on being awesome.

tumblr_mblv09aKHP1rwnygb

Leave a Reply

