Thank The Wrongs (Part 3)

Number 11 went a little longer than I had planned. As more numbers are added to the mix, the longer the stories get. This one isn’t nearly as long but he’s still a number.

12. Holy Moses

I really thought I found something special with this one. At first anyway. I went from the dark and twisty girl to the one that sings hopefully Taylor Swift songs. I started believing again. It all seemed so perfect, like this was planned just for me. It was exciting. Enchanting almost.

1477766809d6a9bc0187dc092b16bc6c

A few months ago, I decided for the first time in a long time to put myself out there and pursue this guy. He was pretty much everything I was looking for in a guy. He wasn’t someone that just wanted to get in my pants. He was looking for what I was looking for. After a weekend long conference of flirting and shenanigans, I slipped him my number. Within 2 days, he was my #1 BFF on Snapchat (which pissed my friend of to no end). Days of texting later and he still didn’t ask me out. So, I took things into my own hands. I told him he should take me out sometime. All of a sudden, dead air. He didn’t respond to that text for 40 minutes. I was at a friends house pacing and panicking as we watched (and as I tried to watch) a movie. Longest 40 minutes ever. Finally he responded positively. We went on a casual date the following week. Just to a couple bars in the city. Some Disney songs were sung on the ride home. The next date I left the ball in his court. We went to this cute little bar in Southie with a large beer selection (winner so far). Post dinner we walked around Castle Island. The walk turned into PokemonGo-ing. I did catch a Lapras so in my book this was a successful date! I can’t remember a point where I wasn’t laughing. Even though it started raining with 100% humidity and my hair frizzed up like a balloon, I didn’t care. I never looked down. We headed back to my place but it was still early so I invited him in for some beers and video games. Yes, I know. Nerds. After a few games, we called it a night. The last time we went out was a movie night. We grabbed dinner, gallivanted through Target then headed to the theater. When he brought me home, we went in for the kiss goodnight but this was different than the ones before. I was empty. I felt no emotion. I couldn’t get out of there fast enough. I brushed it off thinking maybe he’s just not a good kisser. The next week was different too. It felt like he was pulling away. I expressed my concerns to my friends and they chalked it up to him being busy or that it was all in my head. Fine.

We made plans for that Saturday. On Friday night, Benna got super drunk and thought it was a great idea to text this boy. Benna has been known to do things that Jenna would never do. For those of you that don’t know, you have two versions of yourself. There’s sober you and drunk you. To name your drunk personality, switch the first letters of your first and last name. For me, Benna Jaez. Anyways, Benna thought she would move things along and see if i could give this guy the title of boyfriend. What a dumb bitch. This clearly scared him since he stopped texting me that night and nothing the next day either. Well…until like 3pm. Apparently, he really thought about what Benna said and decided he didn’t feel the same. Cool. Even though Benna kind of fucked me on that one, I do owe her one. She made him realize how he really felt and made sure I didn’t waste any more time.

So what did I learn in all this? To quote Jim Halpert, “You’ve got to take a chance on something sometime.” Did this relationship last? No. Do I regret it? Nope. In this short time, I did have fun. I was happy. No regrets man. But on to the next one…

Leave a Reply

